Tip of the week #5 – Set Goals!

Goal setting is very important when it comes to life in general but working out and setting goals is AWESOME (especially when you beat your own goals!)

Whether its daily, weekly, monthly or yearly its good to have a few set and to do your best to try to accomplish each and every one of them.

  • Like this morning, It usually takes be about 45 min to make my run and today it only took me 30 min. So maybe next time I’ll put in an extra 15 min more.
  • Or I have this little board in my room, (picture below) to keep me motivated. It has all kinds of things on it, I found these cute little clothes pins at Hobby Lobby and made a  “pounds lost, and pounds to loose” to help me get to my goal weight. I also black out on my calendar to times I workout whether its a run, a trip to the gym or even just doing a small workout in my bedroom. There is pictures and quotes and also a class schedule of my gyms offered classes.

cal

  • When I started running, heck I couldn’t even make it 1/2 block so to keep from getting discouraged, I’d make it a goal every half block I’d run, the rest I’d power walk and repeated that process till I got better. Now I find different little marker points. Like light posts, run a block or 2 and walk 1/2 block, run for this whole song, power walk for a little bit and back to running. And the easier it would get.
  • Eating healthy can be in this list as well. Maybe only go out to eat 4 times a month instead of 6. or something along those lines.
  • Taking my lunch with me to work more. Making dinner more, or actually making sure I’m getting the right proportions of breakfast in the morning (Like cereal, Measure out the 3/4 cup instead of just pouring a heaping mound into a bowl – or whatever the serving size is.)
  • Maybe you have a goal dress, or goal pants, put them somewhere where you can see them. Make it a goal to fit into it. But remember make it realistic because I mean if I held up a size 7 pant (which I what I am now) when I was a size 14… I would have felt overwhelmed and looked at it like it was impossible. Make some goals small, and make some goals big. And stay positive.
  • I also have this cool little box I made that whenever I workout, I put a dollar in it. So then, at the end of the year, I can see the progress I’ve made and I can treat myself to maybe some cute new clothes. (Picture Below.) You can basically use anything… like a jar or even Tupperware.

box1 box2 box3

Leave a Reply

