How to Stop Overeating!

angel Oh yeah, that little angel and devil that sits on your shoulder when a brownie is staring at you in the face! “Eat it!” says the devil…. “No! your watching your weight!” says the angel… then your having temptations, guilty thought of devouring the entire pan and …well .. it can lead to disaster! So we have gotten really good at labeling foods good or bad… and then guilt usually follows the bad and sometimes joy follows the good but sometimes when we deprive ourselves of a treat all the time and don’t indulge every once in a while it can almost put you on a set back for weight loss too. (No, I’m not saying eat the whole pan of brownies. But sure, have one if you haven’t had sweets in like 2 weeks. But then step away from the brownies afterwards haha) Also we as humans are hardwired to eat for emotional reasons too. Bet ya didn’t know that! It has to do with the love from a mother when she breastfeeds you when your an infant, we associate food with love and comfort. So try to break free of those habits, I know its going to be a challenge at first but its do-able, also we like to talk ourselves out of certain foods too… and we try to justify what were eating. (I still do it from time to time.. not so much anymore, it was more when I was trying to give up dairy products…. damn cheese!) ***Here are some tips on how not to over eat or to take control of your overeating: And believe me we all have heard the excuses …

” Avocados and Almonds are “good fats” so therefor I can eat all I want”………

Wrong! Yes, they are very high in the good fats with their nutrients and awesome benefits. But if you have too many or consume way more than the daily amount you might as well just had the fricken brownie!!! There are 9 calories of every gram of fat and 30% of your daily calories should come from fats ( preferably the good kind) So yes your want your good fats (Monounsaturated and polyunsaturated ) but lets not fill the plate with them k. Usually about 5% per small meal (if you were eating 6 small meals) or 10% per meal if your eating 3 meals.

pop fats good 1

“Popcorn is good for you! Eat it all the time”

Nope! Just because it says low fat or low carb doesn’t mean its a free food to just eat all you want. When companies remove fat to make then “low-fat” they often replace that with sugar.. and its usually fake sugar to boot… so just be careful when you start snacking. Its ok to have like a cup full but don’t inhale the entire bag.

Eating for happiness –

I mean, yes eating should make you happy, but the kinds of food that you think are making you happy are most likely only hurting you. don’t get me wrong I can enjoy a treat here and there but most people want desert every night after dinner. Or my trouble is I crave sugar at night like around 9pm… so instead of going after that sorbet like I usually would I eat a spoonful of almond butter, or snack on some fruit, yeah its still kinda high in sugar and probably not the best for right before bed, but it satisfies the craving and isn’t a blizzard from DQ.

“I have PMS and I’m going to kill someone if I don’t get my sugar and salt!!!”
HA! been there! The hormone serotonin regulates your weight and mood and is actually slowed down during this time of the month. Complex carbs and protein will inhibit the production. So snacks like oatmeal, maybe a little chicken, rice or pasta might be your best bet.

pms tv

Glued to the tube-  Don’t watch TV, sit on the computer, play on your phone or ipad…. JUST DONT. you wont realize how much your eating (this is still a habit of mine! ) If you do do this, make sure you only have the proper serving size in front of you and not the whole box! When you actually sit down at the table and enjoy your snack or craving, it will hit satisfaction a lot quicker where as if your watching TV or something its almost mindless eating because your not focused on the food your focused on the TV.

Don’t have 2nds-  If it was a good meal, sit and enjoy it. And if it was a good meal, it should have all the nutrients your body needs and is craving so you shouldn’t be even hungry for 2nds. Your meals should consist of protein, veggies and a healthy fat, possibly a starch here and there. I’ve herd of some people just skipping dinner and going straight to desert to “save calories” and … haha I just cant believe people think that’s “saving calories” . . . Yea sure your apple pie is 400 calories (just a estimate) and dinner is around 600.. but which do you think will be more satisfying to your body and health? (not satisfying to your tastes buds, I said health) Start to think about where your calories come from, what you actually putting into your body and be aware of the damages you can cause. No I’m not saying I don’t enjoy pie (actually I’m honestly not that big if a fan hah) but think of your body as a car. You wouldn’t put regular gas into a diesel truck, it wont run right, and it will most likely break down (I think…. idk I’m not a mechanic but I’m sure it wont be good ok!) That’s how your body is, if you give it the right nutrients it needs, you wont have cravings and you wont want to eat all the bad things… actually the more you change your diet to a clean eating kind of diet the less you’ll even want the crap foods. The other day someone put on their Facebook that it was 7/11 free Slurpee day and I got to thinking .. “gosh! when was the last time I had a Slurpee?? That doesn’t even sound good to me!” I honestly think it would be WAY too sweet for me now. . . and it probably would make my body ” run like crap” same as the car analogy. wow sorry kinda went of on a rant with that one…

” I ate healthy all week so I’m going to pig out over the weekend”

What?! Seriously?! You just did so well, your on the right track and now your basically going to counteract all the hard work you put into living a healthier lifestyle… I get going out and having fun, but don’t do it every weekend. Think of how depressed your going to make yourself if you did all that hard work and come time to step on the scale on Monday and your weight goes up all because of your fling with food and partying over the weekend. So with the math involved a pound of fat is 3500 calories so unless you plan ok working you ass off after your “party extravaganza” Id just focus on healthy eating around 98% of the time and indulge in maybe one drink here and there, don’t go all out and have the 3 beers with a palate of nachos and a huge hangover breakfast in the morning, you’ll regret it, trust me I know from experience. party Find supportive people- Negative people suck, that’s all I have to say. Now sometimes its not that their negative either, but maybe just not as well knowledged, or maybe they just don’t care about their health (believe it or not there are those people out there), or maybe they don’t know any better because that’s how they were raised. But I’ve seen it and I’ve heard it. “who orders a salad when they go out to eat” or maybe you want to take some healthy snacks like carrots and hummus on a road trip instead of chips and soda… So people don’t mind, some people look at it as weird. Find those people that will be proud of you for eating a healthy snack or even excited that you’re willing to share. The more healthy choices I make around my friends though, it seems to sometimes wear off on them, and that makes me happy 🙂 So far I’ve introduced things like almond butter to my boyfriend and even gotten his best friend to try some tofu, small changes… but I still love it!

Eat Often, Smaller meals – Having smaller meals more often will not only help you stay satisfied longer and fuller but it will also boost your metabolism! YAY! … Instead of 3 large meals, split it up into 6 smaller meals or even 4 or 5 meals. Find what works for you! Base your meals around every 4 hours. If you also munch on things that are full of fiber you’ll stay fuller longer as well. So pack some dried fruit, unsalted nuts or even a granola bar in your purse, glove compartment in your car, or even your desk at work. break “But I don’t eat breakfast.” Well guess what! You do now! If you want to lose weight you need to! Breakfast is like your boost for the day, would you rather have a boost or feel drained. The whole point of breakfast is to “break” your “fast” .. Break-fast from sleeping. You’ve just went (hopefully) around 8 hours without any food so your breaking your fast from the night … make sure you make the breakfast count. Think smoothie, fruit, oats, protein, ..brain food!!! None of this Denny’s grand slam with greasy bacon and 4 white flour pancakes covered in sugar laden strawberry syrup and enough whipped cream for 3 people…. (for some reason American is used to having dessert for breakfast).. But make sure you eat breakfast and make it count people.

Leave a Reply

