Saving more money at Grocery Store!

  1. Make a grocery list and stick to it! Even if something is calling your name… even if its on a good deal. Even though those chips you love are on sale … You don’t need them and they are NOT on your list! Don’t get them. sticking to your list can help with your diet and sticking to it and it can also help you save money!
  2. Plan your list around your meals for that week.. If you plan out your meals and what your planning to make for the whole week, you wont be tempted to buy the extra stuff…. planning is key if you haven’t noticed. I have this awesome app on my phone, it works as a grocery list planner and a meal planner so I know and can stay on track .. . I’m sure there are plenty of free ones online too if you Google search them too. . . =) The app I use is called Food on the table and its a little yellow icon.
  3. Look at your adds! I love Sprouts farmers market for produce, second choice Kings…. but things like cereal can be cheaper at Wal-Mart or Kings apposed to Sprouts.. So when you get to shopping, take a look at the prices and note where things tend to be cheaper for certain stuff… (with my app it shows me deals that are going on it local stores around me)
  4. Generic stuff is usually cheaper than the brand name stuff… most of its the same try it out.
  5. Use cash instead of your card, I know when I use my card I pay less attention to what I’m spending. Where as if I bring 80 bucks with me only to the store Ill make sure I only spend that much. Or also (I know King Soopers has it.. not sure out some of the other ones) They have a credit card for their store, the more you use it, the more point  and so on and so forth then you get free foods and coupons on things you buy regularly.
  6. Sure the pre-packaged items are cute and already in the smaller proportions sizes you should be eating… but chances are they are more expensive than if you were to buy the non pre-packaged stuff. So instead buy the whole package ad the small “snack size” plastic baggies and make your own “snacks”. The serving size is on the back of the bag- if it says 17 pretzels, put 17 pretzels in each bag.
  7. Some grocery stores will give you credit towards the store if you re-use your plastic bags or bring re-useable bags with you to the store.
  8. Cuopons.com or clip coupons… every dollar counts. Also a lot of stores lets you “load” coupons onto your frequent shopper card online so when you get to the store they automatically come out when you pay.
  9. Watch your sales…. stores are really good at advertising things to make them “look” like they are on sale when usually they aren’t really that great of a deal (example: Gatorade, 10 for $10… well besides that , if there isn’t a deal, they usually are $1 anyways… so really 10 for $10 isn’t a deal at all. )
  10. Don’t shop hungry, and try to shop without your kids, then they wont be begging for things that 1. you don’t need and aren’t on your list (because you made a list.. right?!) and 2. it just goes a lot faster haha.

Leave a Reply

